How to Become Compliant with PCI Security Standards

PCI Security Standards
Achieving PCI Security Standards compliance.

Before embarking on what is required in order to achieve PCI security compliance it’s important to get an overview of what PCI standards is all about. To begin with, these are security measures put in place to ensure that cardholder’s data is protected. Security measures and standards are set out by the PCI Security Council which is later enforced by the payment card brands.

There are simple steps that can be followed in order to achieve PCI Standards compliance.

Determining your level as defined by the credit card brand.

This is a very important step for any card holder. Understanding which level you fall in helps in narrowing down the number transactions that are done on their credit card. It’s not surprising that many of the credit card companies have different compliance and validation levels. For instance many of the level four merchants are basically those organizations that do have a million transactions in a year.

In most cases, master card categories over a million master card transactions a year to be level three merchants. This is not the case with American express which doesn’t have level four categories. With each level of compliance comes a specific validation requirement. For instance, you might be on level 4 according to Visas classification but level 2 merchant according to American Express.

If you have any doubts then it’s important to assemble the amount of credit cards and get in touch with the acquirer bank. In most cases, the acquirer bank has an ultimate decision on all merchant levels. If your organization suffers a breach then it’s important to check your acquirer bank in this situation.

Determining what you need to make completion submission validation.

Once you are aware of the level that you are in, you are now in a position to provide the acquirer bank which shows the validation. Once you are through with the banks validation process then it’s time to select the most appropriate SAQ (Self-Assessment Questionnaire) for your organization. Most of the banks would require you to SAQ which acts as a determinant factor before validating the compliance.

PCI ongoing 3-step process

    You can also choose to follow these three simple steps which act a mirror to security best practice

  • Assess– At this stage it’s important to get overall cardholders data by taking an overall inventory of all IT assets, as well as other business processes. These are essential for an analysis of any vulnerability as well as processing of any relevant information.
  • Remediate – This is the section where any vulnerabilities are taken care of and in most cases no cardholders information is stored.
  • Report – This is the last part of the whole process and it entails compiling and submitting the required remediation and validation records then submitting any compliance reports to the acquiring bank or the card brands you are doing business with.

There is a greater need for all merchants to be careful on what is required in order to have safer transactions online. That is why it is really imperative to get in touch with us since we have all that is required to ensure you have whatever it takes for a safe yet efficient mode of transactions. Get in touch with us an you will never regret your decision since we will always keep your payments data secure.


Have an App Idea?

Get your free consultation now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *